How to Reset MacBook Pro without Losing Data | A Step-by-Step Guide

how to reset macbook pro

Nobody likes losing their computer data even if it is just a bunch of screenshots or saved Pins. But sometimes our computers don’t comply with our wishes. When a MacBook Pro becomes extensively slow, due to one of the many reasons, a reset becomes necessary. Otherwise, a freezing screen and slow processing after every few minutes will keep frustrating us. But even if we want to reset our computer to improve its functionality, we wouldn’t want to lose our saved data. So, a question may arise that how to reset MacBook Pro without losing data.

Don’t worry it’s possible.

Let’s see how it’s done!

How to Reset MacBook Pro without Losing Data?

Resetting a MacBook Pro without losing any data is as simple as 1, 2, and 3.

One – Backup your data

Two – Reset your MacBook Pro

Three – Restore your data

It is a quick and easy process if you follow the above-mentioned guidelines step by step. But remember there is a difference between resetting a MacBook Pro without losing any data and a factory reset.

Firstly, we will discuss a soft reset, which means you get to keep your data and also have improved functionality.

Step-by-Step Guide to MacBook Pro Soft Reset

Below we have shared a complete guide to performing a soft reset on your MacBook Pro. Follow the steps exactly and you will have a good as a new computer in no time.

Step 1: Backup your Data

backup-data

The first step in how to reset MacBook Pro without losing data is to create a backup of your data. This will help keep the data safe when you decide to do a soft reset. But this only works when you have created a backup before performing a reset.

A computer backup is simply a copy of the data stored on your computer. This copy is stored elsewhere (either on an external hard drive or in the cloud). So, once the reset process is complete, you can easily restore the data back from the already created backup.

How to create a backup on MacBook Pro?

select-disk

In a MacBook Pro, there is a built-in backup feature, known as Time Machine. Using this, you can easily create a backup of all files, like music, photos, emails, important documents, and system settings, etc.

Follow the below-given steps to create a MacBook Pro backup on an external drive using Time Machine:

  1. Get an external hard drive with enough free space and connect it with your computer.
  2. Click Use as Backup Disk as a window pops up when you connect the drive with your computer.
  3. In case the window doesn’t appear, go to Apple Menu and select System Preferences.
  4. Click on Time Machine.
  5. Then, click on Select Backup Disk and select your external drive.
  6. As soon as you select an external drive, your data will start backing up using Time Machine.

With the help of these simple steps, anyone can successfully back up their MacBook Pro data using Time Machine.

Step 2: Reset your MacBook Pro

reinstall-macos

A soft reset and factory reset are two different processes and a factory reset is more complicated. Most people perform a factory reset or hard reset when they want to sell their MacBook Pro. For that, you need to know how to reset MacBook Pro to sell.

Before resetting a MacBook Pro, you need to prepare your system for the reset. So, follow the given instructions to prepare your Mac for reset.

Before you hit the reset button, sign out of all your licensed apps. You need to:

  1. De-authorize iTunes
  2. Turn off FileVault
  3. Disable iCloud
  4. Sign out of iMessage
  5. Erase Touch Bar Data

Begin the reset process. To do that, you need to:

  1. Reboot Mac in Recovery Mode
    • Go to Apple menu in the top left corner of  Mac screen and click ‘Restart’.
    • After Restarting, Hold ‘Command and R’ keys together to bring up the macOS Utilities window.
  2. Erase Mac hard drive
    • Choose ‘Disk Utility’ and click ‘Continue’.
    • Select your startup disk which is usually named Macintosh HD and click ‘Erase’ from the buttons at the top of the Disk Utility window.
    • Choose ‘Mac OS Extended (Journaled)’ from the menu and click ‘Erase’.
  3. Reinstall macOS on MacBook Pro
    • Go to Disk Utility in the top left corner of your screen.
    • Click ‘Reinstall macOS’.
    • Confirm that you want to reinstall macOS and follow the onscreen instructions to complete the process.

Congratulations! you’ve successfully reset your Mac to factory settings

Step 3: Restore your Data

macos-high-sierra-migration-assistant

The last step in how to reset MacBook pro without losing data is restoring backed up data on your computer.

If you want to know how to reset MacBook Pro to sell, you shouldn’t restore data after a factory reset. But if you want to keep using the same computer, you need your data.

To restore the data on your MacBook Pro, you need the external drive where you had previously created the backup. Once you have that, you will need to start the Time Machine of your MacBook Pro.

You can easily restore your files and system settings by using Time Machine. All you have to do is follow these steps:

  1. Connect the external drive on which you created the backup to your MacBook Pro and turn it on.
  2. Open Migration Assistant. You can reach it by following this sequence of directories Finder> Applications> Utilities> Migration Assistant. Click Continue.
  3. Select From a Mac, Time Machine backup, or startup disk and click Continue.
  4. You will be given backup options. You can select the Time Machine backup that you created.
  5. Transfer the backup to your desired category (ies) and click Continue.
  6. Wait until all your settings and files are restored to their respective categories.

How to Reset MacBook to Factory Settings without Password

Now that you know how to reset MacBook pro without losing data, it’s time to address another important problem.

Sometimes, we want to reset an old MacBook or a used MacBook that we just bought. But what if we don’t remember its password? This can become problematic unless you know how to reset MacBook without password.

Resetting a MacBook Pro to its factory settings without a password is complicated but not impossible. Keep the following steps in mind and wipe your Mac clean even if you don’t know the password.

Step 1: Start MacBook Pro in Recovery Mode

  • To start a MacBook in recovery mode, restart it by clicking at the Apple logo at the top left side of your screen.
  • As soon as you do that, press and hold the Command + R keys.
  • Keep holding them down until an Apple logo or spinning globe appears on the screen.
  • A window will open asking to Choose a Language.
  • Choose your desired language and it will direct you to the next screen. This screen is the Recovery Mode utility window.
  • It can take a few minutes for your MacBook Pro to start up in Recovery Mode.

Step 2: Erase Your MacBook Hard Drive Using Disk Utility

In the Recovery Mode, select Disk Utility from the Utilities Window and click Continue.

There will be 2 disks:

  1. Macintosh HD
  2. Macintosh HD – data in Catalina

Before wiping the main hard drive clean, delete the Macintosh HD-Data partition.

After erasing it, select Macintosh HD and erase the data on that after following the prompts that pop up.

Final Thoughts

Resetting your computer is a quick and easy process if you know how to reset MacBook pro without losing data. Improved functionality is the main concern for anyone resetting their MacBook without the intention of selling it. So, follow this step-by-step guide to reset your MacBook Pro without losing your data. You can also follow this guide to know how to reset MacBook to factory settings without password.

Share: